book review, horror, short story

Chills & Creeps Volume 1 by Nick Clausen

Eight imaginative horror short stories make up this fun collection by bestselling author, Nick Clausen.

The first story, Under The Skin, reads like a fairy tale told through a modern lens. It’s a suitably nasty opening to the collection, and lets you know what you can expect from the other stories.

Snapper The Fish tells the story of a little girl and her new pet. My second favorite of the collection, this will probably stay with me the longest.

Deadly Dreams is about a new game app that’s all the rage. My favorite story of the collection, I loved the story and the implications of the world created. Complete on its own, this is a world I wouldn’t mind the author revisiting.

All Birds Hate Me is about a boy who is hated by all birds. Thing Daphne du Maurier’s story, but for one person rather than a town. Thankfully, there’s a medical treatment for it these days.

Ghost Tennis is a spooky tale about a new home that’s haunted by a ghost who likes to play tennis. Would you play with him? I would. I love tennis, and a ghost opponent would make a welcome change to the wall.

Drip-Drip-Drip is about a girl who has a disagreement with her new house. It’s a claustrophobic tale that makes you wonder what you’d do in the girl’s place.

When I Snap My Fingers… is a chilling story about hypnotism. My third favorite of the collection, this story is very dark.

The final story, Lights Out, is the origin story of a superhero, or is that a super villain?

If you like the author’s novels, you will enjoy a journey into his shorter works. If you haven’t yet read Clausen, Chills and Creeps is a good introduction to his writing. After each story he gives a brief paragraph on its inspiration, which I thought was a nice touch.

I award Chills & Creeps Volume 1

Chills & Creeps Vol 1 is available for $2.77 ebook and $14.99 print book on Amazon.

I received a free copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Check out my reviews of Nick Clausen’s other books by clicking on the names below:

Dead Meat: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4.

The Girl Who Wasn’t There.

10 thoughts on “Chills & Creeps Volume 1 by Nick Clausen”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s